Movements amid the mining sector this month include former Atlas Iron managing director Ken Brinsden moving to Pilbara Minerals to take on the role of chief executive.

Pilbara’s chairman Tony Leibowitz said Mr Brinsden was the ideal person to lead the financing, development and construction of the company’s Pilgangoora Lithium-Tantalum Project.

“Ken has a wealth of experience in both the Pilbara region and in project development which make him the ideal person to drive the Company as we enter this next exciting chapter of our growth,” Mr Leibowitz.

Other changes include a significant shake up at NRW Holdings on the back of a disappointing year.

Chief operating officer Graeme Dunn has been recruited to lead Southern Cross Electrical Engineering as its managing director.

Meanwhile chairman Ian Burston has announced his retirement after eight years on the board. In addressing shareholders at its annual general meeting Mr Burston said the board was “implementing a process of refreshment and renewal and will modify as necessary processes and procedures to better reflect the significant changes which have occurred in recent times”.

Mr Burston’s resignation comes after fellow board member John Cooper also announced his plans to leave the board.

In other movements, former Newmont Mining Corporation executive John Nitschke has joined Venturex Resources as managing director.

Mr Nitschke was executive general manager of development for Newmont and has also held executive roles with Oz Minerals, Normandy Group and Oxiana.

His appointment at Venturex Resources comes following Michael Mulroney’s resignation from the role in February.

David Griffiths has resigned from his position as non-executive director of Silver Lake Resources. Mr Griffiths was a co-founder of the company and a non-executive director for eight years.

North Queensland-focused Atherton Resources has also announced a significant changing of the guard as a result of Auctus Chillagoe’s takeover of the company. Tony James has resigned as Managing Director, and John Fitzgerald and Richard Yeates have resigned from the board as non-executive directors of the company.

Terry O’Connor, Paul Sims and Steve Murdoch have been appointed as executive directors of Atherton Resources. Mr O’Connor and Mr Sims are directors of Auctus, while Mr Murdoch is the chair of Atherton.

Managing director of Kingrose Mining, Scott Huffadine, has resigned. Mr Huffadine has previously held roles with Metals X, Westgold Resources and Straits Resources.

Geoffrey Wallace has resigned from his position as director and company secretary at coal and graphite explorer Walkabout Resources. Andrew Cunningham has been appointed as non-executive director while Kim France has been appointed as company secretary.

ASX listed graphite and nickel exploration company Kibaran Resources appointed Robert Pett as non-executive chairman. Mr Pett formerly led Resolute Mining’s board as its chair.

Tryanna Resources has appointed Bruno Seneque as managing director. Ian Finch will be stepping down from his role as executive chair and moving to the position of non-executive chairman.

Australian based mineral exploration company, Argosy Minerals, has appointed Andrea Betti to the company’s board as a non-executive director and company secretary. Frank Knezovic has resigned from the company as director and non-executive Chairman. Ranko Matic resigned as company secretary, though will remain a director of the company and will assume the role of non-executive chairman.

Matthew Carr has been appointed as a director and company secretary of Minera Gold and Nicholas Rowley has been appointed as a director. Campbell Baird resigned as a director of the company, and Angelina Hicks also resigned as a director and company secretary of the business. The company has also appointed Bradley Vallukas as a director.

Craig Burton will become executive chairman of Cradle Resources, pending the appointment of a new managing director. Grant Davey has resigned as managing director.

Founding director of Ironbark Zinc, Adrian Byass, has resigned as executive director of the company.

Andrew Teo is stepping up into the role of executive chairman at Medusa, on an interim basis until a new chief executive is appointed for the company. Former managing director and chair of Medusa, Geoff Davis, rejoined the company as interim chief executive in September last year, and has now retired from the role.

Chief executive officer of London-listed Rare Earth Minerals, Kiran Morzaria, has been appointed as non-executive director of European Metals Holdings.

Nick Bowen, former Macmahon managing director, has announced his retirement as non-executive director of Tempo Australia. Mr Bowen is currently serving as executive global head, mining services for Orica.

IDM International has appointed Scott Mison, Geoff Gilmour and Graeme Clatworthy as directors. Anthony Julien, Michael Brickell, Barry Bolitho and Cheryl Wilson have resigned from the company’s board.

Collated from Business News data.