Movements amid the mining sector this month include Tim Netscher joining the board of Toro Energy as non-executive director and chairman-elect – replacing Fiona Harris who has decided to retire for personal reasons. Mr Netscher is standing down as chairman and as a non-executive director of uranium-focused Deep Yellow. Mr Netscher is also a non-executive director of Gold Road Resources, Western Areas Limited and Aquila Resources. He is also the non-executive chairman of St Barbara. Mr Netscher has a wide range of experience as a mining executive on large capital projects and will work to lead Toro into becoming the leading mid-tier Australian uranium company through the Wiluna Project.

Ms Harris was appointed chair of Toro Energy in February as Erica Smyth’s replacement.

Mark Bennett, former Sirius Resources managing director and chief executive officer, and Neil Warburton, non-executive director, have joined the board of Independence Group as non-executive directors following its acquisition of Sirius Resources in a $1.8 billion takeover last month.

S2 Resources debuted on the ASX last month at a price of 22 cents per share. That has now dropped to around 17 cents per share.

Meanwhile, after resigning as company secretary and general manager, corporate of Independence Group, Tony Walsh has rejoined Atlas Iron as company secretary and head of corporate.

Mr Walsh had been at Independence Group for the past two years. Prior to this, he was Atlas Iron’s company secretary for seven years. Joanne McDonald has been appointed as the new company secretary of Independence Group.

In other movements, Environmental Protection Authority has appointed Jim Limerick to the board on a three year term. Mr Limerick is also chair of Ports WA and a member of the advisory board to the National Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority. Mr Limerick was formerly director general of the Department of Industry and Resources.

Copper producer Tiger Resources has appointed Mark Connelly as an independent non-executive director.

Former managing director of Bullabulling Gold, Brett Lambert, has been appointed as interim chief executive of ABM Resources as Darren Holden departs the company.

Jianrong Xu has resigned as director of vanadium-focused TNG Limited.

Both Rick Crabb and Dennis Trlin have resigned as directors of Platypus Minerals. Laurie Ziatas has been elected as chairman of the board of directors in place of Mr Crabb.

Panoramic Resources has announced Peter Sullivan as a non-executive director. Mr Sullivan is the non-executive director of Resolute Mining and GME Resources. He is also the non-executive chair of Zeta Resources and Pan Pacific Petroleum.

Brian McMaster has resigned from the board of Paradigm Metals. Mark Reilly will serve as a non-executive director of the company.

Patrick O’Neil has resigned as company secretary of  Baraka Energy and Resources. Tim Clark will act as interim company secretary.

Saracen Minerals’ non-executive director Barrie Parker will resign at the conclusion of the company’s forthcoming annual general meeting on November 25th after serving as a director of the company since December 2007.

Harvest Minerals has announced the appointment of Frank Moxon to the board as a non-executive director.

Krakatoa Resources has announced that Timothy Hogan has joined the board as a non-executive director.

Platypus Minerals has appointed Rocco Tassone as non-executive director.

Chris James has announced his resignation as a non-executive director of Ironbark Zinc.

Wayne Foot has been appointed as general manager, operations at Gold Road Resources.

Peter Canterbury has resigned as the chief executive and executive director of Bauxite Resources. Sam Middlemas has been appointed as chief executive after being with the company for more than three years in the role as company secretary and was acting chief executive prior to the appointment of Mr Canterbury. Mr Middlemas is also non-executive director of Elemental Minerals.

General Mining Corporation has appointed Michael Fotios as executive chair. Mr Fotios is also executive chair of Swan Gold Mining. Alan Still and Michael Kitney have also been appointed as new non-executive directors of General Mining Corporation. Former chair Michael Wright and former non-executive directors Robert Wanless and Craig Readhead have retired from the board.

Rift Valley Resources has appointed Akram Aziz to the board of directors. Mr Aziz is also founder and principle shareholder of Caspian Limited, a specialist civil engineering, building and mining contractor.

Garrick Higgans will resign as non-executive chair at Kidman Resources after serving on the board for more than four years. Peter Lester will join Kidman Resources as non-executive chair.

Valmec has recently appointed Peter Iancov as non-executive director. Mr Iancov has over 20 years’ expertise gained in the energy infrastructure, commercial construction, mining, contracting and defence sectors. He is also a director of Western Power and the Southern Ports Authortity.

Lia Darby has announced she will be stepping down from her role as non-executive director of Global Metals Exploration after serving as a director of the company for the past eight years. Company secretary Keith Bowker will replace her on the board.

Collated from Business News data.