August 2019 – Scholarship Awards

Event - August 2019 – Scholarship Awards


The WA Mining Club is committed to supporting the development of the next generation of mining professionals. This is achieved through the annual WA Mining Club Scholarship Program, which provides future mining professionals with the opportunity to realise their potential and create valuable industry connections.  At this luncheon, we will congratulate all the finalists and announce the winners of the 2019 Scholarships.  For more information on the scholarship program, go to our Scholarships page



Hon Bill Johnston MLA
Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Industrial Relations

Bill Johnston was sworn in as the Mines and Petroleum, Commerce and Industrial Relations, Electoral Affairs, and our State’s first Asian Engagement Minister in March 2017.  Bill is also the Member for Cannington, having held this position since September 2008.

Prior to entering Parliament, he spent seven years as the State Secretary of WA Labor, four years as Shadow Minister for Mines and Petroleum, and five years as Shadow Energy and State Development Minister.

He was also a former senior official of the Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees’ Association, where he fought for fairness for low-paid workers in industrial rights, workers compensation and working conditions.

Jim Walker

Jim Walker – an industry Statesman with more than 40 years’ experience in the resources sector including managing director of WesTrac, where he led the company’s rapid development in industrial and mining services locally and in China. Prior to this, he held various roles with other Australian Caterpillar dealers.

He is Chair of Australian Potash, Diggers and Dealers, Austin Engineering Ltd, Mader Group, Wesley College, WA Motor Museum, State Training Board, Deputy Chairman of RACWA Holdings Pty Ltd and a Director of MG Kailis.  He is also Patron of WASM Alumni.

Previously, Jim was a Chair of Macmahon Holdings, Director of Seven Group Holdings and past National and State President of AIM.

Mr Walker’s long focus on apprentices and training was recognised when he was awarded the GJ Stokes Memorial Award at Diggers & Dealers in August 2014.  He is a graduate member of the AICD.


Jacinta Riedel
2011 WA Mining Club Scholarship Winner

Jacinta Riedel is a former 2011 WA Mining Club scholarship winner and holds a BSc – Mineral Exploration & Mining Geology from the WA School of Mines. She currently works for BHP in a planning geologist role designing strategic and tactical programs to de-risk mine plans in the two to five year horizon. She has range of technical experience from brownfields exploration through to underground and surface mining operations in small and large companies across nickel, gold, lithium and iron ore.

Jacinta has recently completed a postgraduate certificate in Agribusiness, was awarded the AusIMM New Professional Award in 2016 and awarded a 2019 BHP Women In Technology & She Codes scholarship.




With thanks to our event partners




August 2019 – Scholarship Awards
Thu 29th August 2019
Hyatt Regency Perth
99 Adelaide Terrace Perth
Grand Ballroom
12.00pm to 2.30pm
$100 members $150.00 non members $65.00 students and retired members $950.00 table of eight
Register Now